Boise voters to elect trustees Tuesday

The Boise School District will hold its standalone trustee election Tuesday.

Three candidates are running for two six-year board seats. Candidates don’t run for specific board spots. Instead, they run at large, and Tuesday’s two top-vote getters will be elected.

The candidates are Dennis Doan, a retired Boise fire chief, appointed to the board in 2018; Nancy Gregory, an 18-year trustee who has served as board chairperson for the past six years; and James Tooman, a parent who has served on Head Start’s policy council.

The district will operate eight regional voting centers Tuesday:

  • East Junior High School, 5600 E. Warm Springs Ave.
  • Fairmont Junior High School, 2121 N. Cole Road.
  • Les Bois Junior High School, 4150 E. Grand Forest Drive.
  • Riverglen Junior High School, 6801 N. Gary Lane.
  • South Junior High School, 3101 W. Cassia St.
  • West Junior High School, 8371 W. Salt Creek Court.
  • Boise High School, 1010 W. Washington St.
  • District Services Center, 8169 W. Victory Road.

Voters who have requested and received absentee ballots must return them to the District Services Center by 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Under state law, school districts hold trustee elections in November on odd-numbered years, alongside municipal elections. But under Boise’s unique governing charter, which predates statehood, the state’s second largest district can hold its elections in early September.




Kevin Richert

Kevin Richert

Senior reporter and blogger Kevin Richert specializes in education politics and education policy. He has more than 30 years of experience in Idaho journalism. He is a frequent guest on "Idaho Reports" on Idaho Public Television and "Idaho Matters" on Boise State Public Radio. Follow Kevin on Twitter: @KevinRichert. He can be reached at [email protected]

Get EdNews in your inbox

Weekly round up every Friday