The WiFi contractor’s election money trail

Education Networks of America — the recipient of a state WiFi contract that will be worth more than $2.1 million in 2013-14 and could run for 15 years — has been an active player in Idaho campaign finance.

The Nashville, Tenn.-based company contributed $38,750 in the 2010 and 2012 election cycles.

A few fast facts:

  • The biggest benefactor was state schools superintendent Tom Luna, who announced the contract Wednesday. He received $5,500 during his 2010 re-election campaign, and has received another $500 since then.
  • Gov. Butch Otter received $3,000 during the 2010 campaign, and has received $1,250 since then.
  • The biggest benefactor in the Legislature: Senate Education Committee Chairman John Goedde, who has received $2,250 from ENA.
  • All eight members of the GOP’s House and Senate leadership teams received ENA money in 2012.
  • In all, 42 current legislators have received ENA donations — exactly 40 percent of the 105-member Legislature.

Here’s the detailed breakdown.

Gov. Butch Otter: $4,250.

State superintendent Tom Luna: $6,000.

Sen. Steve Bair, R-Blackfoot: $500.

Rep. Vito Barbieri, R-Dalton Gardens: $250.

Sen. Clifford Bayer, R-Boise: $750.

Rep. Scott Bedke, R-Oakley: $250.

Rep. Maxine Bell, R-Jerome: $250.

Former Sen. Diane Bilyeu, D-Pocatello: $750.

Sen. Les Bock, D-Boise: $250.

Rep. Darrell Bolz, R-Caldwell: $1,000.

Sen. Bert Brackett, R-Three Creek: $750.

Sen. Cherie Buckner-Webb, D-Boise: $500.

Sen. Dean Cameron, R-Rupert: $250.

Former Rep. Marge Chadderdon, R-Coeur d’Alene: $500.

Rep. Brent Crane, R-Nampa: $250.

Sen. Bart Davis, R-Idaho Falls: $500.

Rep. Reed DeMordaunt, R-Eagle: $250.

Rep. Lawerence Denney, R-Midvale: $750.

Rep. George Eskridge, R-Dover: $1,000.

Sen. Russell Fulcher, R-Meridian: $1,000.

Sen. John Goedde, R-Coeur d’Alene: $2,250.

Sen. Jim Guthrie, R-McCammon: $1,000.

Former Sen. Jim Hammond, R-Post Falls: $500.

Sen. Marv Hagedorn, R-Meridian: $500.

Rep. Stephen Hartgen, R-Twin Falls: $750.

Sen. Lee Heider, R-Twin Falls: $750.

Rep. Frank Henderson, R-Post Falls: $500.

Sen. Brent Hill, R-Rexburg: $250.

Rep. Brandon Hixon, R-Caldwell: $250.

Rep. James Holtzclaw, R-Meridian: $250.

Sen. Shawn Keough, R-Sandpoint: $250.

Sen. Todd Lakey, R-Nampa: $250.

Former Rep. Janice McGeachin, R-Idaho Falls: $250.

Rep. Luke Malek, R-Coeur d’Alene: $250.

Rep. Jason Monks, R-Meridian: $250.

Sen. Dean Mortimer, R-Idaho Falls: $750.

Rep. Mike Moyle, R-Star: $1,000.

Sen. Bob Nonini, R-Coeur d’Alene: $750.

Sen. Sheryl Nuxoll, R-Cottonwood: $250.

Sen. Jim Patrick, R-Twin Falls: $1,000.

Rep. Paul Shepherd, R-Riggins: $750.

Former Rep. Mack Shirley, R-Rexburg: $500.

Rep. Jeff Thompson, R-Idaho Falls: $1,000.

Former Sen. Mitch Toryanski, R-Boise: $750.

Rep. John Vander Woude, R-Nampa: $750.

Sen. Steve Vick, R-Dalton Gardens: $250.

Rep. Rich Wills, R-Glenns Ferry: $250.

Sen. Chuck Winder, R-Boise: $1,250.

Rep. Fred Wood, R-Burley: $750.

Rep. Rick Youngblood, R-Nampa: $250.

Kevin Richert

Kevin Richert

Senior reporter and blogger Kevin Richert specializes in education politics and education policy. He has more than 30 years of experience in Idaho journalism. He is a frequent guest on "Idaho Reports" on Idaho Public Television and "Idaho Matters" on Boise State Public Radio. Follow Kevin on Twitter: @KevinRichert. He can be reached at [email protected]

Get EdNews in your inbox

Weekly round up every Friday