State launches search for new CTE administrator

The state has launched a nationwide search for the next administrator of the Idaho Division of Career-Technical Education.

In conjunction with the search, the State Board of Education announced Friday that a 14-member search committee will help with recruitment, screening and applicant interviews. The committee is made up of legislators, State Board of Education officials and business leaders, as well as educators and administrators from throughout the K-12 and higher education systems.

Dwight Johnson

Five-year CTE administrator Dwight Johnson announced this summer that he will retire when his successor is named.

The state will accept applications through Oct. 4 for the position, which pays from $115,000 to $125,000 a year. More information about the position is available on the Idaho Division of Human Resources website.

The search committee includes:

  • Marc Beitia, Idaho Teacher of the Year, American Falls High School.
  • Linda Clark, Idaho State Board of Education.
  • Trent Clark, chair, Idaho Workforce Development Council.
  • Matt Freeman, executive director, Idaho State Board of Education.
  • Wayne Hammon, CEO, Idaho Associated General Contractors.
  • Jerry Keane, superintendent, Post Falls School District.
  • Alex LaBeau, president, Idaho Association of Commerce & Industry.
  • Staci Low, director of CTE, West Ada School District.
  • Rick MacLennan, president, North Idaho College.
  • Sen. Dean Mortimer, chair, Senate Education Committee.
  • Darcy Neidigh, president, DeBest Plumbing.
  • Scott Rasmussen, dean, Idaho State University College of Technology.
  • Kelly Steely, president-elect, Career & Technical Educators of Idaho.
  • Rep. Rick Youngblood, co-chair, Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee.

Clark Corbin

Get EdNews in your inbox

Weekly round up every Friday