How Idaho Business for Education graded the 2022 Legislature

Nearly half of the state’s lawmakers received a perfect grade on Idaho Business for Education’s report card on the 2022 Legislature.

IBE based its legislative scorecard on five laws that passed this session: the higher education budget; a literacy law that could expand all-day kindergarten; an incentive program for teachers in rural and high-poverty districts; funding for the Idaho Opportunity Scholarship; and funding for $15 million in federal child care grants.

Lawmakers received 20 percentage points for each yes vote.

In addition, House Education Committee members received 20 percentage points if they voted against a state-funded private school scholarship bill — or lost 20 percentage points if they supported it. House Education killed the bill.

All told, 44 lawmakers received a 100% score, and seven House Education members scored 120%.

Meanwhile, eight lawmakers scored 0%, and three House Education members came in at minus 20%.

The full scores are available here.

But here are the scores for lawmakers on the Legislature’s education committees:

Senate Education Committee: Chairman Steven Thayn, R-Emmett, 80%; Vice Chairman Dave Lent, R-Idaho Falls, 80%; Robert Blair, R-Kendrick, 100%; David Nelson, D-Moscow, 100%; Janie Ward-Engelking, D-Boise, 100%; Jim Woodward, R-Sagle, 100%; Carl Crabtree, R-Grangeville, 80%; Kevin Cook, R-Idaho Falls, 60%; Lori Den Hartog, R-Meridian, 60%.

All nine Senate Education members are seeking re-election in 2022.

House Education: Chairman Lance Clow, R-Twin Falls, 120%; Vice Chair Ryan Kerby, R-New Plymouth, 120%; Steve Berch, D-Boise, 120%; Lori McCann, R-Lewiston, 120%; John McCrostie, D-Garden City, 120%; Sally Toone, D-Gooding, 120%; Julie Yamamoto, R-Caldwell, 120%; Gary Marshall, R-Idaho Falls, 80%; Judy Boyle, R-Midvale, 40%; Barbara Ehardt, R-Idaho Falls, 20%; Codi Galloway, R-Boise, 20%; Ron Mendive, R-Coeur d’Alene, 20%; Gayann DeMordaunt, R-Eagle, -20%; Dorothy Moon, R-Stanley, -20%; Tony Wisniewski, R-Post Falls, -20%.

Three House Education members — Marshall, McCrostie and Toone — are not seeking re-election. Moon is running for secretary of state. Galloway is running for state Senate in her legislative district.

Kevin Richert

Kevin Richert

Senior reporter and blogger Kevin Richert specializes in education politics and education policy. He has more than 30 years of experience in Idaho journalism. He is a frequent guest on "Idaho Reports" on Idaho Public Television and "Idaho Matters" on Boise State Public Radio. Follow Kevin on Twitter: @KevinRichert. He can be reached at [email protected]

Get EdNews in your inbox

Weekly round up every Friday