Boise trustees extend superintendent’s contract

Boise School Board trustees on Monday extended Superintendent Coby Dennis’ contract and boosted his annual salary from $183,604 to $191,866.

Boise School District Superintendent Coby Dennis.

The 4.5% raise keeps Dennis among Idaho’s highest paid K-12 administrators and reflects a recently approved percentage increase for the district’s certified teachers, starting July 1. As of January, North Idaho Charter STEM Academy Executive Director Scott Thomson was Idaho’s highest paid K-12 administrator, at $193,500 annually.

Dennis’ contract extension keeps him in place through at least June 30, 2024.

Boise trustees unanimously approved the raise and contract extension during a regular board meeting Monday, and voiced appreciation for Dennis’ leadership.

The superintendent has “rallied with his staff to keep our schools moving forward” since the early days of the pandemic, said trustee Nancy Gregory.  

“You’ve done a really good job of recognizing that the only way out is through,” trustee Andy Hawes added. “There are a lot of shortcuts you could take, but you don’t.”

The board has extended Dennis’ contract twice since he replaced longtime Boise superintendent Don Coberly in 2019: once last year and again Monday. 

Dennis, the son of former Boise Superintendent Dehryl Dennis and Coberly’s former deputy superintendent, touted district staff and educators Monday.

“This is about our team and our teachers,” said Dennis. “It will always be about that. They’re the ones who make this work.”

Boise is Idaho’s second largest school district, with just over 23,000 students last school year.

Here’s a look at Idaho’s top-paid administrators for 2021-22:

  1. Scott Thomson, North Idaho Charter STEM Academy: $193,500
  2. Coby Dennis, Boise: $183,604
  3. Derek Bub, West Ada: $175,000
  4. James Foudy, Blaine County: $168,000
  5. Norma French, Caldwell: $166,771
  6. Shon Hocker, Coeur d’Alene: $165,000
  7. Thomas Albertson, Lake Pend Oreille: $159,705
  8. Lisa Roberts, Boise: $158,417
  9. Scott Woolstenhulme, Bonneville: $156,150
  10. Douglas Howell, Pocatello-Chubbuck: $155,945

Also Monday: Boise trustees unanimously approved the district’s 2022-23 budget of $391,030,908.

Marcus Lawrence

Marcus Lawrence

Get EdNews in your inbox

Weekly round up every Friday