Thayn to seek re-election, face Grow in GOP primary

Senate Education Committee Chairman Steven Thayn is seeking a ninth term in the Legislature.

Senate Education Committee Chairman Steven Thayn

And he’ll be running in what figures to be heated GOP primary against Sen. C. Scott Grow.

The redistricting process put Thayn, R-Emmett, and Grow, R-Eagle, into a redrawn legislative District 14, which takes in Gem County and northwest Ada County.

It’s a considerably different district for Thayn. For the past decade, he has represented a sprawling Central Idaho district that lumped Gem County together with Boise, Custer, Lemhi and Valley counties. Those counties are now split off into different legislative districts.

Thayn has been in the Senate for 10 years, after serving six years in the House. He has been the Senate Education chairman for the past two sessions.

Grow has been in the Senate for six years, and sits on the budget-writing Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee.

Sen. C. Scott Grow

Thayn is one of several Senate and House education committee members who have filed for re-election. That list includes:

  • House Education Committee Chairman Lance Clow, R-Twin Falls.
  • House Education Vice Chairman Ryan Kerby, R-New Plymouth.
  • Ron Mendive, R-Coeur d’Alene.
  • Julie Yamamoto, R-Caldwell.
  • Steve Berch, D-Boise.
  • Lori Den Hartog, R-Meridian.
  • Robert Blair, R-Kendrick.
  • David Nelson, D-Moscow.
  • Janie Ward-Engelking, D-Boise.

Check back for updates throughout the filing period, which runs through March 11.

Kevin Richert

Kevin Richert

Senior reporter and blogger Kevin Richert specializes in education politics and education policy. He has more than 30 years of experience in Idaho journalism. He is a frequent guest on "Idaho Reports" on Idaho Public Television and "Idaho Matters" on Boise State Public Radio. Follow Kevin on Twitter: @KevinRichert. He can be reached at [email protected]

Get EdNews in your inbox

Weekly round up every Friday