Bedke, Moyle retain House GOP leadership spots

House Republicans kept Speaker Scott Bedke and Majority Leader Mike Moyle in place for the 2019 legislative session.

Rep. Scott Bedke, R-Oakley

Bedke, of Oakley, defeated Brent Crane of Nampa in the speaker’s race, decided in a closed-door caucus Wednesday night.

Bedke has been speaker since 2012.

Moyle, of Star, defeated challenger John Vander Woude, also of Nampa.

The leadership races could have a major effect on other decisions, which in turn could influence education budgets and policy. The House Republican team will select committee chairs — including a new chair for the budget-writing Joint Finance-Appropriations Committee and the House Education Committee.

The committee chairs and committee assignments should be announced today or Friday.

Rep. Mike Moyle, R-Star

House Republican leadership will have a new look in 2019.

Jason Monks of Nampa will be assistant majority leader, taking the spot Crane vacated. Monks defeated Terry Gestrin of Donnelly.

Megan Blanksma of Hammett will be the GOP’s caucus chair, a position Vander Woude vacated. Blanksma defeated Reps. Sage Dixon of Ponderay and Dorothy Moon of Stanley.

Here’s more on Wednesday night’s leadership races from Betsy Russell of the Idaho Press.


Kevin Richert

Kevin Richert

Senior reporter and blogger Kevin Richert specializes in education politics and education policy. He has more than 30 years of experience in Idaho journalism. He is a frequent guest on "Idaho Reports" on Idaho Public Television and "Idaho Matters" on Boise State Public Radio. Follow Kevin on Twitter: @KevinRichert. He can be reached at [email protected]

Get EdNews in your inbox

Weekly round up every Friday