STEM center awards first round of grants

Idaho’s STEM Action Center awarded its first round of grants Tuesday — and the new center had no shortage of applicants.

The $48,175 will go to 23 teachers across the state, covering projects in fields ranging from robotics and drones to hydrogen fuel cars and 3-D design and printing. Projects will launch this spring.

A group of teachers and business professionals sifted through a field of 104 applications totaling more than $250,000.

Angela Hemingway
Angela Hemingway, executive director, STEM Action Center

“The number of applications illustrates the need Idaho educators face in implementing innovative STEM projects,” STEM Action Center executive director Angela Hemingway said Tuesday. “We were impressed by the quality of the applications and recognize that Idaho educators are capable of tremendous innovation when given the resources.”

The action center opened in July, as a clearinghouse to support programs and teacher training in the “STEM” disciplines of science, technology, engineering and math.

Gov. Butch Otter has proposed creating a $10 million fund to provide long-term state matching dollars for grants and teacher training. (Click on this link for a detailed look at the STEM budget request.)

Here’s a list of Tuesday’s grant recipients:
Kristin Beck Hansen School District $2,495.85
Andrew Bosworth Ririe High School $2,046.61
Beth Brubaker North Idaho STEM Charter Academy, Rathdrum $2,299.43
Cora Caldwell Gooding Middle School library $2,500.76
Guy Falconer Sage International School, Boise $2,500
Sherri Faust Parma schools $2,500
Monique Gafford Kuna Middle School $2,364.09
Sonia Galaviz Garfield Elementary School, Boise $2,549
Karen Garner Idaho Arts Charter School, Nampa $1,060
Jared Gee Sugar-Salem High School $2,476.65
Jacque Johnson Southside Elementary School, Cocolalla $2,500
Amanda Knowlton Sacajawea Elementary School, Caldwell $2,475
Erin Kueneman Cynthia Mann Elementary School, Boise $2,482.95
Gary Lam Potlatch Elementary School $1,523.11
Rashelle Mack East Junior High School, Boise $2,189.95
Joseph Martin Franklin Elementary School, Pocatello $707.50
Ken Price Marsing School District $2,492
Kevin Ramsey Leadore School $2,455
Allen Reed South Fremont High School, St. Anthony $2,500
Carmi Scheller Star Elementary School $1,516.07
Carol Scholz Boise School District $2,500
Lindsey Truxel Barbara Morgan Elementary School, McCall $1,626
L. Paul Verhage Treasure Valley Math and Science Center, Boise $ 415.83


Kevin Richert

Kevin Richert

Senior reporter and blogger Kevin Richert specializes in education politics and education policy. He has more than 30 years of experience in Idaho journalism. He is a frequent guest on "Idaho Reports" on Idaho Public Television and "Idaho Matters" on Boise State Public Radio. Follow Kevin on Twitter: @KevinRichert. He can be reached at [email protected]

Get EdNews in your inbox

Weekly round up every Friday