The WiFi contractor’s election money trail

Education Networks of America — the recipient of a state WiFi contract that will be worth more than $2.1 million in 2013-14 and could run for 15 years — has been an active player in Idaho campaign finance.

The Nashville, Tenn.-based company contributed $38,750 in the 2010 and 2012 election cycles.

A few fast facts:

  • The biggest benefactor was state schools superintendent Tom Luna, who announced the contract Wednesday. He received $5,500 during his 2010 re-election campaign, and has received another $500 since then.
  • Gov. Butch Otter received $3,000 during the 2010 campaign, and has received $1,250 since then.
  • The biggest benefactor in the Legislature: Senate Education Committee Chairman John Goedde, who has received $2,250 from ENA.
  • All eight members of the GOP’s House and Senate leadership teams received ENA money in 2012.
  • In all, 42 current legislators have received ENA donations — exactly 40 percent of the 105-member Legislature.

Here’s the detailed breakdown.

Gov. Butch Otter: $4,250.

State superintendent Tom Luna: $6,000.

Sen. Steve Bair, R-Blackfoot: $500.

Rep. Vito Barbieri, R-Dalton Gardens: $250.

Sen. Clifford Bayer, R-Boise: $750.

Rep. Scott Bedke, R-Oakley: $250.

Rep. Maxine Bell, R-Jerome: $250.

Former Sen. Diane Bilyeu, D-Pocatello: $750.

Sen. Les Bock, D-Boise: $250.

Rep. Darrell Bolz, R-Caldwell: $1,000.

Sen. Bert Brackett, R-Three Creek: $750.

Sen. Cherie Buckner-Webb, D-Boise: $500.

Sen. Dean Cameron, R-Rupert: $250.

Former Rep. Marge Chadderdon, R-Coeur d’Alene: $500.

Rep. Brent Crane, R-Nampa: $250.

Sen. Bart Davis, R-Idaho Falls: $500.

Rep. Reed DeMordaunt, R-Eagle: $250.

Rep. Lawerence Denney, R-Midvale: $750.

Rep. George Eskridge, R-Dover: $1,000.

Sen. Russell Fulcher, R-Meridian: $1,000.

Sen. John Goedde, R-Coeur d’Alene: $2,250.

Sen. Jim Guthrie, R-McCammon: $1,000.

Former Sen. Jim Hammond, R-Post Falls: $500.

Sen. Marv Hagedorn, R-Meridian: $500.

Rep. Stephen Hartgen, R-Twin Falls: $750.

Sen. Lee Heider, R-Twin Falls: $750.

Rep. Frank Henderson, R-Post Falls: $500.

Sen. Brent Hill, R-Rexburg: $250.

Rep. Brandon Hixon, R-Caldwell: $250.

Rep. James Holtzclaw, R-Meridian: $250.

Sen. Shawn Keough, R-Sandpoint: $250.

Sen. Todd Lakey, R-Nampa: $250.

Former Rep. Janice McGeachin, R-Idaho Falls: $250.

Rep. Luke Malek, R-Coeur d’Alene: $250.

Rep. Jason Monks, R-Meridian: $250.

Sen. Dean Mortimer, R-Idaho Falls: $750.

Rep. Mike Moyle, R-Star: $1,000.

Sen. Bob Nonini, R-Coeur d’Alene: $750.

Sen. Sheryl Nuxoll, R-Cottonwood: $250.

Sen. Jim Patrick, R-Twin Falls: $1,000.

Rep. Paul Shepherd, R-Riggins: $750.

Former Rep. Mack Shirley, R-Rexburg: $500.

Rep. Jeff Thompson, R-Idaho Falls: $1,000.

Former Sen. Mitch Toryanski, R-Boise: $750.

Rep. John Vander Woude, R-Nampa: $750.

Sen. Steve Vick, R-Dalton Gardens: $250.

Rep. Rich Wills, R-Glenns Ferry: $250.

Sen. Chuck Winder, R-Boise: $1,250.

Rep. Fred Wood, R-Burley: $750.

Rep. Rick Youngblood, R-Nampa: $250.

  • Kevin S. Wilson

    Between now and the next election, I hope that every Idaho voter has seen these figures so often that they are as familiar as the voters’ own phone numbers. Thank you, Mr. Richert, sincerely, for doing the math.

  • Tom von Alten

    Not seeing the benefit of alphabetizing. Let’s follow the money:

    $6,000 State superintendent Tom Luna
    $4,250 Gov. Butch Otter
    $2,250 Sen. John Goedde, R-Coeur d’Alene
    $1,250 Sen. Chuck Winder, R-Boise

    Rep. Darrell Bolz, R-Caldwell
    Rep. George Eskridge, R-Dover
    Rep. Jeff Thompson, R-Idaho Falls
    Rep. Mike Moyle, R-Star
    Sen. Jim Guthrie, R-McCammon
    Sen. Jim Patrick, R-Twin Falls
    Sen. Russell Fulcher, R-Meridian

    Former Sen. Diane Bilyeu, D-Pocatello
    Former Sen. Mitch Toryanski, R-Boise
    Rep. Fred Wood, R-Burley
    Rep. John Vander Woude, R-Nampa
    Rep. Lawerence Denney, R-Midvale
    Rep. Paul Shepherd, R-Riggins
    Rep. Stephen Hartgen, R-Twin Falls
    Sen. Bert Brackett, R-Three Creek
    Sen. Bob Nonini, R-Coeur d’Alene
    Sen. Clifford Bayer, R-Boise
    Sen. Dean Mortimer, R-Idaho Falls
    Sen. Lee Heider, R-Twin Falls

    Former Rep. Mack Shirley, R-Rexburg
    Former Rep. Marge Chadderdon, R-Coeur d’Alene
    Former Sen. Jim Hammond, R-Post Falls
    Rep. Frank Henderson, R-Post Falls
    Sen. Bart Davis, R-Idaho Falls
    Sen. Cherie Buckner-Webb, D-Boise
    Sen. Marv Hagedorn, R-Meridian
    Sen. Steve Bair, R-Blackfoot

    Former Rep. Janice McGeachin, R-Idaho Falls
    Rep. Brandon Hixon, R-Caldwell
    Rep. Brent Crane, R-Nampa
    Rep. James Holtzclaw, R-Meridian
    Rep. Jason Monks, R-Meridian
    Rep. Luke Malek, R-Coeur d’Alene
    Rep. Maxine Bell, R-Jerome
    Rep. Reed DeMordaunt, R-Eagle
    Rep. Rich Wills, R-Glenns Ferry
    Rep. Rick Youngblood, R-Nampa
    Rep. Scott Bedke, R-Oakley
    Rep. Vito Barbieri, R-Dalton Gardens
    Sen. Brent Hill, R-Rexburg
    Sen. Dean Cameron, R-Rupert
    Sen. Les Bock, D-Boise
    Sen. Shawn Keough, R-Sandpoint
    Sen. Sheryl Nuxoll, R-Cottonwood
    Sen. Steve Vick, R-Dalton Gardens
    Sen. Todd Lakey, R-Nampa

  • Kevin S. Wilson

    In 2012, Tom Luna raised a little more than $255,000 for his campaign fund, including $72,581 in contributions connected to for-profit education. That $72,581 included $37,331 from out-of-state contributors; $10,250 from in-state contributors; and $25,000 from K12, Inc. to fund independent ads. Based in Virginia, K12, Inc. operates Idaho’s largest virtual charter school–the Idaho Virtual Academy–and was widely regarded as a primary provider of the online courses that would have been required of high school students if Proposition 3 had failed and that portion of the Luna Laws had remained in effect.

  • Richard Evensen

    Folks, this IS the smoking gun. Whatever is rotten in Denmark pales in comparison to the stink surrounding Tom Luna. Shameful.