Idaho Education News wins regional excellence awards

The staff at Idaho Education News won four 2018 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in the following categories:

Richert’s Life After High School series takes an in-depth look at Idaho’s struggles to convince high school graduates to continue their education. Richert has specialized in education and legislative coverage since January 2013, when he joined Idaho Education News at its launch. He is a recent recipient of a reporting fellowship from the Education Writers Association in Washington, D.C.; the fellowship will allow Richert to expand on the Life After High School series later in 2018.

Idaho Education News staff includes managing editor Jennifer Swindell, data analyst Randy Schrader, reporter Clark Corbin, East Idaho reporter Devin Bodkin, multimedia specialist Andrew Reed and business manager Janalee Schrader.

The Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious awards in broadcast and digital news. The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism.

Regional Murrow Awards are presented to small and large radio, television and digital outlets based on 14 geographic regions. Idaho Education News competed in the northern region that includes media outlets in Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington and Montana. Regional winners are automatically considered for a national award.

Idaho EdNews Staff

Idaho EdNews Staff

Get EdNews in your inbox

Weekly round up every Friday