State Board of Ed

State Board of Education

To view Board Calendar, click here.

*As a public courtesy, they make the meeting agendas available on the Monday prior to a regularly scheduled meeting.

To speak at a Board meeting, please fill out the request form and send it in.

*State Board of Education Open Forum Request to Speak Form


Physical Address:
650 West State Street, Room 307
Boise, Idaho 83702
Mailing Address:
PO Box 83720
Boise, Idaho 83720-0037
Phone: (208) 334-2270
Fax: (208) 334-2632
Board Secretary Email: [email protected]
Executive Director: Mike Rush
Phone (208) 332-1571
Executive Assistant : Janie Potter
Phone (208) 332-1571 
Board Members

Don Soltman, President
Twin Lakes
Term Expires: 02/28/14
Committees: Instruction, Research & Student Affairs, Audit

Emma Atchley, Vice President
Term Expires: 02/28/15
Committees: Audit (chair), Business Affairs & Human Resources

Rod Lewis,Secretary
Term Expires: 2/28/15
Committee: Business Affairs & Human Resources

Bill Goesling, Member
Term Expires: 02/28/16
Committees: Instruction, Research & Student Affairs

Milford Terrell, Member
Term Expires: 3/01/2017
Committee: Business Affairs & Human Resources (Chair)

Richard Westerberg, Member
Term Expires: 3/01/14
Committee: Instruction, Research & Student Affairs (chair)

Tom Luna, Superintendent of Public Instruction
Committees: Instruction, Research & Student Affairs (ex-officio)


Contact Management Services

Chief Communications & Legislative Affairs Officer, Marilyn Whitney (208) 332-1591

Chief Planning & Policy Officer, Tracie Bent (208) 332-1582

Administrative Assistant – Management Services, Helen Pline (208) 332-1567

Public Charter School Commission Director, Tamara Baysinger (208) 332-1583

Public Charter School Commission Program Manager, vacant (208) 332-1585

K–12 & Educator Policy Manager, Allison McClintick (208) 332-1579


Contact Academic Affairs

Chief Academic Officer, Selena Grace (208) 332-1592

Academic Affairs Program Manager, Patty Sanchez (208) 332-1562

Accountability Program Manager, Scott Grothe (208) 332-1572

Administrative Assistant – Higher Ed. Heidi Boehlke (208) 332-1597

Administrative Specialist, Caryl Smith (208) 332-1576

Scholarships Program Manager, Jessica Piper (208) 332-1596

Research Analyst, Leah Schultz (208) 332-1563

State-wide Longitudinal Data Systems Project Coordinator, Andy Mehl (208) 332-1586

Student Affairs Program Manager, Dana Kelly (208) 332-1574

Finance department

Deputy Director/Chief Fiscal Officer Matt Freeman 208-332-1570

Financial/Performance Audit Manager, Scott Christie 208-332-1581

Financial Unit Lead, Melissa Carleton 208-332-1575

Registration Coordinator for Private Colleges & Proprietary Schools, Harv Lyter 208-332-1587